Doz’s Newsletter №3

My struggles in character design, on coincidence, and notes on travel that proved: “East or West, India is the Best”

Neel Dozome
8 min readJul 1, 2024

I am sorry that I have, once again, neglected to make the necessary effort to keep in touch. I went to India and returned home to London a lolling wreck. That was a few months’ ago. After my return, time lost its meaning. April turned to May, and May has turned to July. The usual emotions overwhelmed me. Of wanting desperately to stay and flee at the same time. Of belonging and feeling out of place. Of loneliness and the need to be alone. Of the sadness but also relief of being a person without a home, roots or history, and as a British politician famously derided people like me: citizens of nowhere.

I have nothing to say about my personal circumstances at the moment other than to convey something of the incredible art that I have been fortunate enough to have seen and experienced. This art helped me understand that it doesn’t matter who you are — you have a right to exist. Whatever politicians may say, every human being has the right to the ground under their feet.

In ancient Hindu and Buddhist mythology, the Earth (bhoomi) is one of the most powerful deities, even more powerful that the Lord of Death and Love. The story of Buddha touching the ground is probably my favourite from this mythology.

From: https://thesouthasiacollection.co.uk/

--

--

Neel Dozome

I am a London (UK) based blogger interested in graphic culture and technology with a particular focus on type design and UX/GameDev.